Life as a Barista

In line with my previous post ‘change’, I left university in December, and 6 days after arriving home I had managed to secure a job….at Starbucks! I joined the Starbucks team before Christmas so I got to wear the red apron and learn how to make all of the Christmas beverages which was very exciting!

Within a week and a half I was trained and ready to be on shift as a working barista. Training wasn’t just about learning how to make all of the complex drinks (although it was a large part of it) I also had to get to grips with using the till, cleaning procedures and customer service.

img_4981

My training involved mastering the art of Latte, Cappuccino and Caramel Macchiato as well as all the other drinks on the Starbucks Menu!

In all honesty, I am loving my work, my job gives me purpose, interaction with people from all walks of life, going about all sorts of daily tasks. I love being able to make my customers happy when I hand-craft their drinks.

I am now training to become a Shift Supervisor, which means I can lead the shifts I am on. I am really excited for this next stage of the job and although the work is tiring with either early starts or late finishes, I don’t think I could think of a much better job for this year.

That’s all for now! Claudia

Leave a Reply

